Skip to main content

The Jewel of His Heart by Maggie Brendan

Breakthrough Author Captures Romance and Rugged Adventure
Big Sky Country holds two treasures: rare jewels and Juliana's love.
Which will he choose?


Romance readers have taken to the soft, romantic style of Maggie Brendan in her runaway-hit debut novel No Place for a Lady. Now, the second book in the series releases with great anticipation, taking readers back to the Big Sky Country of the American frontier—and the life and love that awaits.

The second book in the Heart of the West series, The Jewel of His Heart is set in 1890s Montana. It is here that Juliana calls home when she meets Josh McBride, a handsome, gentle sheepherder. When he discovers a rare kind of sapphire on his property and considers striking out on his own path in the world, he is forced to decide what’s most important to him: the world’s riches or the eternal value of love in a woman whose eyes rival the rarest of gems.

For fans of Lori Wick and Kim Vogel Sawyer, Maggie Brendan’s beautifully woven story captures the rugged, adventurous life on the American frontier—and the quest for love by the pioneers who live there.


About the Author

Maggie Brendan is a member of American Christian Writers and the American Fiction Writers Association. She is the author of No Place for a Lady and lives in Georgia.


Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, offers practical books that bring the Christian faith to everyday life. They publish resources from a variety of well-known brands and authors, including their partnership with MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) and Hungry Planet.
For more information, visit www.RevellBooks.com.


Here is my review of this terrific work of Historical fiction:

First of all, I would like to extend a heartfelt “Thank you” to Maggie Brendan and Revell Books for sending me a copy of "The Jewel Of His Heart" to review for them. I have always been grateful for this generosity, and I am trying to improve at being consistent in taking the time to thank these wonderfully giving individuals in a public forum. I really appreciate your time, effort and expense in making a reviewer copy available to me.

“The Jewel of His Heart” by Maggie Brendan is an enjoyable read about a sheepherder who happens to find a few rare sapphires on his land, the young lady who captures his heart and the decisions he must make about the two. Julianna swears that she will never marry a miner, so Josh must choose: the lady he loves and a hard life as a lowly sheepherder or making a possible fortune in mining for these rare gemstones.

Throw in a couple of unfit suitors competing for Julianna’s affections and an unscrupulous rich girl who may manipulate Josh after a tragic fire, and you have quite an enticing story. At times, the characters seem a bit wooden, but the story moves the reader right along and overall, this is a completely pleasurable and entertaining reading experience. The thread of faith that Brendan has woven throughout the tale offers several subtle reminders in Whom to put your trust. I will definitely be looking for Maggie Brendan’s novels on the bookstore shelf.


“Available October 2009 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Homiletics Genesis 27-28

26 February 2013 Contents: 1 27:1-4 When Isaac was old, he called Esau to hunt and make food so Isaac could bless him. 2 27:5-10 Rebekah heard and told Jacob to bring 2 goats she would cook so Isaac would bless him. 3 27:11-17 Jacob feared a curse but Rebekah dressed him in Esau’s clothes and goat skins and made the food. 4 27:18-23 Jacob went to Isaac and Isaac questioned his hunting success, felt him and blessed him. 5 27:24-29 Isaac ate and drank, smelled his son and blessed him with God’s abundance and the servitude of family and nations. 6 27:30-33 Jacob barely left when Esau came asking for the blessing; Isaac trembled asking who he blessed. 7 27:34-37 Esau begged for blessing but Isaac said Jacob took it, that Esau will serve Jacob and Isaac can do nothing. 8 27:38-40 Esau said, “bless me” and wept so Isaac “blessed” hi

Homiletics Training: Content

Homiletics .   By definition, “homiletic” is the art of preaching or writing sermons.   I think we would all agree that our pastors study the Bible thoroughly to deliver sermons every Sunday to their congregations.   The beautiful news is that every child of God can use this discipline to study the Bible for themselves. As a member of Bible Study Fellowship (BSF) Leadership, part of my required preparation each week is to prepare homiletics for the passage we are studying.   BSF offers an engaging seminar on how to use this method to study the Scriptures.   I’ve taken the seminar several times under two different leaders and I’ve learned something new every time I’ve attended.   I’ve also been doing the process of homiletics for over ten years and I can say that there is no better teacher than the Holy Spirit in this process!   So keep practicing.   Keep sharing and discussing.   I’ve been posting my homiletics on this blog for quite a while, now.   And I would like to share wit

Homiletics Genesis 32-33

12 March 2013 Contents:             Where?                   Mahanaim, Succoth, Shechem                                  Who?   Jacob and caravan, Esau 1 32:1-5 Jacob names Mahanaim when he sees angels and sends messengers to meet Esau that Jacob might find favor in his sight. 2 32:6-8 Messengers tell Jacob Esau is coming and Jacob is afraid and divides caravan into 2 companies so one might escape if they’re attacked. 3 32:9-12 Jacob prayed God would deliver him from Esau and reminded God of promises to prosper him and make descendants numerous. 4 32:13-21 Jacob slept, selected a gift for Esau, instructed his servants about greeting Esau and slept again. 5 32:22-24 He rose, moved his family and possessions across the stream, then wrestled with a man until daybreak. 6 32:25-27 The man dislocated Jacob’s thigh but Jacob wouldn’t let go till the man blessed him.