Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Jenna’s Cowboy by Sharon Gillenwater


Romance on the Ranch:

When Jenna’s cowboy returns to their small hometown in Texas,
she discovers that the memories of the past aren’t so easy to shake after all

Popular author Sharon Gillenwater releases a new novel, Jenna’s Cowboy, set in the beautiful part of West Texas where she grew up as the debut novel in The Callahans of Texas series.

Readers meet Jenna Callahan, who has a young son and is working hard at her father's ranch. She's content with her life. But she never expected to see Nate Langley back in town—the first guy she ever noticed, the very same one her father sent away all those years ago. And she never thought the attraction they felt would be as strong as ever.

Jenna's cowboy has some healing of his own to do, though, after two tours of duty in the armed forces. With the help of good friends, strong faith, and a loving family, he hopes to put the horrors of the past behind him—and become the man Jenna deserves.

With an emphasis on simple acts of love, Jenna's Cowboy gives romance readers what they want most: a love story with a Texas touch. This contemporary novel will appeal to fans of Debbie Macomber and Lisa Wingate.

Sharon Gillenwater was born and raised in west Texas , and loves to write about
her native state. The author of ten novels, she is a member of ACFW and Romance Writers of America. When she's not writing, she and her husband enjoy spending time with their son, daughter-in-law, and adorable grandson. She lives in Port Angeles , Washington .

Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, offers practical books that bring the Christian faith to everyday life. They publish resources from a variety of well-known brands and authors, including their partnership with MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) and Hungry Planet.


Available January 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.


Here is my review of this terrific novel:

First of all, I would like to extend a heartfelt “Thank you” to Sharon Gillenwater and her publisher for sending me a copy of "Jenna's Cowboy" to review for them. I have always been grateful for this generosity, and I am trying to improve at being consistent in taking the time to thank these wonderfully giving individuals in a public forum. I really appreciate your time, effort and expense in making a reviewer copy available to me.

“Jenna’s Cowboy” by Sharon Gillenwater is one of the sweetest romances I’ve read in a long time. And if you are familiar with my reviews, you know that I read quite a few wonderful books! I love the Texas landscape that the author has painted in this novel that showcases ranching and cotton farming with equal story time and meticulous description to educate the reader and put her in the position that the main character, Nate Langley, occupies. Nate returns home from serving in the military to help his ailing father on the family cotton farm, taking on a part-time job with a neighboring rancher for some extra income. Nate is reunited with Jenna Callahan, the rancher’s daughter and an old friend from high school. Happy to learn that Jenna is divorced and hoping to pursue a relationship with her as he should have back in school, Nate tries to balance a growing love with his own denial about sleepless nights and post traumatic stress disorder.

This book tenderly honors servicemen. I was touched by Gillenwater’s handling of the issues associated with PTSD. And, even though the story wrapped up a little too neatly to be confused with a possible reality (thought I will admit that God can do anything), I loved that the characters in this book displayed characteristics of true friendship and Christianity. Their reactions to the situations in this incredibly romantic novel put on display what a church family should look like. Through thick and thin, good times and bad, Nate received grace as he struggled with various issues that would make weaker men and women walk away. I am inspired that there are human beings on this planet like the characters in this novel who were willing to stand up for the one they loved and see him through the most difficult of times. I want to be that kind of person.

I am glad that this book promises to be the first in a series called “The Callahans of Texas”. I look forward to reading more exciting and romantic fiction about these characters that emulate such admirable Christian behavior. I am also a sucker for patriotism, so this novel (and future books in this series) will find themselves on my keeper shelf.

1 comment:

Sharon Gillenwater said...

Hi Stacey,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm so glad you enjoyed Jenna's Cowboy and really appreciate your insights into the book.

Love your blog page!

In Jesus,
Sharon Gillenwater