Saturday, October 24, 2009

The Jewel of His Heart by Maggie Brendan

Breakthrough Author Captures Romance and Rugged Adventure
Big Sky Country holds two treasures: rare jewels and Juliana's love.
Which will he choose?


Romance readers have taken to the soft, romantic style of Maggie Brendan in her runaway-hit debut novel No Place for a Lady. Now, the second book in the series releases with great anticipation, taking readers back to the Big Sky Country of the American frontier—and the life and love that awaits.

The second book in the Heart of the West series, The Jewel of His Heart is set in 1890s Montana. It is here that Juliana calls home when she meets Josh McBride, a handsome, gentle sheepherder. When he discovers a rare kind of sapphire on his property and considers striking out on his own path in the world, he is forced to decide what’s most important to him: the world’s riches or the eternal value of love in a woman whose eyes rival the rarest of gems.

For fans of Lori Wick and Kim Vogel Sawyer, Maggie Brendan’s beautifully woven story captures the rugged, adventurous life on the American frontier—and the quest for love by the pioneers who live there.


About the Author

Maggie Brendan is a member of American Christian Writers and the American Fiction Writers Association. She is the author of No Place for a Lady and lives in Georgia.


Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, offers practical books that bring the Christian faith to everyday life. They publish resources from a variety of well-known brands and authors, including their partnership with MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) and Hungry Planet.
For more information, visit www.RevellBooks.com.


Here is my review of this terrific work of Historical fiction:

First of all, I would like to extend a heartfelt “Thank you” to Maggie Brendan and Revell Books for sending me a copy of "The Jewel Of His Heart" to review for them. I have always been grateful for this generosity, and I am trying to improve at being consistent in taking the time to thank these wonderfully giving individuals in a public forum. I really appreciate your time, effort and expense in making a reviewer copy available to me.

“The Jewel of His Heart” by Maggie Brendan is an enjoyable read about a sheepherder who happens to find a few rare sapphires on his land, the young lady who captures his heart and the decisions he must make about the two. Julianna swears that she will never marry a miner, so Josh must choose: the lady he loves and a hard life as a lowly sheepherder or making a possible fortune in mining for these rare gemstones.

Throw in a couple of unfit suitors competing for Julianna’s affections and an unscrupulous rich girl who may manipulate Josh after a tragic fire, and you have quite an enticing story. At times, the characters seem a bit wooden, but the story moves the reader right along and overall, this is a completely pleasurable and entertaining reading experience. The thread of faith that Brendan has woven throughout the tale offers several subtle reminders in Whom to put your trust. I will definitely be looking for Maggie Brendan’s novels on the bookstore shelf.


“Available October 2009 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

No comments: